A friendly fireplace warning about heating costs!

Hi All,

First off, I would like to appologise for the lack of posts over the past weeks. I have unfortunately had a string of personal issues, coupled with having to work has really bogged me down.

Anyway, on to the point of this article…

I recently (in the last month) did a test with a simple 1kW halogen electric heater – I won’t be stating the energy company in question for legal reasons, but I used a halogen heater to heat one room in my house for a period of a month and it cost me around 70 quid!

Absolutely astonishing – friends and I have been debating over the last couple of months at what is more expensive, gas or electric and I think I can say that electric is a lot more expensive, or atleast my test results have shown this – lol – I must say at this point; the Missus was defo not impressed 😉 lol!!

Obviously if you choose to use an electric heater, then you could use things like voltage controllers to lower the voltage and the cost and the heat, but I was chatting with my particular enerygy supplier and they said that electricity for heating was not the best choice.

It is interesting (something I tell my clients) is that if you are to use gas and get a new, high efficiency fireplace, then your energy costs could even cost you less than before. If you are to then go the extra mile and get cavity wall insulation, loft insulation and double glazing, then your heating costs can be dramatically reduced.

Anyway, the point of this article really is a warning to anyone using electicity to heat their home; it can costy quite a bit – the test I did defo emphasized this and I can tell you; we will be using our combi-boiler much more now!

Ciao ciao, Buck

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bythefireside.wordpress.com/2008/12/01/a-friendly-fireplace-warning-about-heating-costs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

